Scholarships and Awards

Here is a sampling of scholarships that may be relevant to sociology majors. Please note that this list is not exhaustive, and other scholarship opportunities may be found on the College of Arts and Sciences Scholarships page or the UO website for Financial Aid.

The Diana May Woodruff Award

Offered through the Department of Sociology, this annual award gives $6,000 to an undergraduate or graduate sociology student who is interested in pursuing a career in social work, broadly defined. The prize applies to the following academic year’s UO tuition and fees.

This scholarship is for an outstanding undergraduate student majoring in sociology in their junior or senior years, or a graduate student in any year, with a particular interest in pursuing social work, broadly defined (e.g., social services, child and family services, and community health). The scholarship is for $6,000 and will be applied to tuition and fees. Both sociology undergraduate and graduate students are encouraged to apply.

Applicants will be evaluated based on the overall quality of their academic work, their commitment to learning, and their potential for further academic achievement. Preference will be given to students with demonstrated financial need, as determined by the UO Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

Applications should include:

  • Applicant information
  • Your CV or resumé
  • A two-page (2-page) statement of your interest in pursuing a career in social work, broadly defined
  • Evidence of FAFSA application

Apply Here

Review of applications will occur on a rolling basis. The Department of Sociology will issue a call for applications in the spring term. Students are encouraged to visit this page for updates as they are posted. 

Interested students can also address questions to the undergraduate coordinators.

Critical Research in Sociology Award

This award will be offered for two summers and provide summer funding to graduate students at any level. It is designed to facilitate inclusive funding opportunities for the completion of research that incorporates critical sociological perspectives. A critical sociological approach focuses on the social world in a way that reveals, critiques, and/or challenges existing power relations and is directed toward changing and improving the world. Research areas can include any topic (inequalities, labor, environment, health, immigration, sexualities, gender, race, political structures, etc.), but should broadly reflect a critical perspective.

With support from DEI and UMRP funds, sociology will offer five (5) summer research awards of $4,200 each. Three (3) of the five (5) awards are specifically for under-represented students of color (Black, Indigenous, LatinX, Asian-American, Asian-Pacific Islander, and other under-represented identities). Two (2) of the five (5) awards are open to all UO Sociology graduate students, including students of color.   

Eligibility: Students must be in good standing in the department.

Application Materials:

  • A research statement that describes the scope and goals of the project, including theoretical contributions and methodological approach(es). The statement should also include a discussion of the work to be undertaken during the award period (summer) and how the funds will be used. It should be no more than 750 words (references not included) and be double-spaced.
  • To assure the committee of your ability to make progress with the proposed research, provide a statement agreeing not to undertake any teaching or other compensated employment during at least six (6) weeks during the summer, nor to accept any other fellowships or grants for the same period that would interfere with your commitments to this project for the duration of at least six (6) weeks of the summer.
  • CV
  • List of any grants, fellowships, or additional support for which the student has applied, or is applying, for any part of the period covered by the award.

Additional Scholarships and Awards

College of Arts and Sciences Students – CAS offers a number of scholarships and fellowships each year. Sociology majors are in the College of Arts and Sciences, as are many other programs of study.

General University Scholarship Program – Awarded on the basis of scholastic achievement. Undergraduates and graduate students must hold a 3.5 cumulative GPA. Incoming freshmen are automatically considered as part of their university application. All others must apply.

Diversity Excellence Scholarship – This award recognizes the academic achievement and potential of students who, through sharing their varied cultural perspectives, will enhance the education of all UO students and the excellence of the university.  Applications are due in January and require a letter of recommendation.

Grants for Undergraduate Research Projects – UROP mini grants are awards of up to $1,000 to support undergraduate student research, creative scholarship, or work on an innovative project. Applications may be submitted twice per year, in October and February.

LGBTQIA+ Community – The John R. Moore Scholarship and the RJ Hoyman Scholarship are awarded to students who excel in their contribution to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer community.

Veteran Support – The Tillman Scholars program supports our nation’s active-duty service members, veterans, and military spouses by investing in their higher education. The Osher Re-Entry Scholarship is awarded to students who are returning or have returned to pursue their education after a break. Osher applications open in December and close in early March.

Prepare for Graduate Study – The McNair Scholars Program (TRiO) prepares qualified juniors and seniors for graduate study leading to PhD degrees.